Hungry Hollow 5K (Aug 2019)

hungry-hollow

Georgetown hosted a 5km Trail Run and it was a blast. The inaugural race took place on Sunday, Aug 25th, 2019 which started at St Brigid school on Miller Dr and ran to the trail head then proceeded to drop down into the valley and run 2 loops through Hungry Hollow Trail and then back out of the valley and finished along Miller back at St Brigid in the school parking lot. Here is a link to the website: HERE. We are so lucky to have such amazing trails around and throughout our town and I’m very happy to see it being used and promoted.

Before the 5km race there was a kids fun run which was about 1km and was a blast. Sophie and Sadie both ran it along with Sydnie who ran with Mallory (Syd ran almost the entire way!). Sophie ended up 3rd, Sadie 5th and Syd didn’t come last. At the end each kid got a small little plastic medal and everyone had BIG smiles. Our friends the Wickett family ran as well and Norah actually took the WIN!

The 5km race was over pretty quick and I don’t recall most of it however I do remember my buddy Jordan (AKA the MOOSE now;) going out FAST and leading the pack along Miller Dr and then as we dropped down the hill onto the trail the lead changed and a 19year old with crazy wheels took off and I didn’t see him again. The 2 loops felt fast and compared to the majority of my training were way quicker than I was use to – but a little speed work and Max speed feels good sometimes. The end of the race I do remember as a young gun (early teen) and I climbed out of the valley together and I went for the finish and left him in the dust – still got a bit of a kick!

I hope the race becomes a yearly event as it was great to see the entire community out and pull together. Funds raised went to Special Olympics.

CH

Leave a comment