That Dam Hill 12 Hour (Sept 2019)

my-logo

This was a sad one due to the fact that months before the race the race director sadly passed away. I must say this race held in London Ontario was one that I always looked forward to. I’ve ran over 260km on that 2.25km course and fought many demons and embraced much love. The race director and volunteers put on such an outstanding race. Such a positive vibe and they’ve created an environment where you can really challenge yourself and push to find new limits. Ultra races are much more than a time and a distance, they are a struggle and a test and a search for a solution and as I like to say problem solving on the move.  When you enter an ultra you almost always come out the other side a little different, stronger, wiser, hungrier… Thanks for an amazing couple years Race director Dave and my thoughts and love are with you family. Hopefully someone will pick up this race and run it in your memory.

That DAM Hill 2016 HERE

That DAM Hill 2018 HERE

I had not done much running leading up to this race and I had to work the day of so I wasn’t even going to participate however knowing that this might be its final run I decided I had to make it there. I decided I would work that day then drive down and take part in the 12 hour night time run. My buddy Quinn ran his first ever official marathon that morning at 8am just breaking the 4hour mark (Congrats Sir!!) and my parents once again flexed on everyone showing what a couple 70 plus year olds can do. My parents walked 70km that day (New record for my mom)! Huge Congrats to both my mom and dad and Quinn for inching a little closer towards the world of ultra running! Also Irish Joe was there and walked a solid marathon even days after his cancer treatment – the man will never stop! #Legend

 

The Good:

The first 10km felt great and so did kilometres 30-40. The weather was great as there were no clouds and a full moon was out which lit up the park making for a pleasant  evening run. Also since most of the runners had already left it was only the 12hour night runners and the 24hour racers on the course, leaving it very open and easy to move.

The Bad:

Kilometres 10-20 were rough as I couldn’t get anything going. I felt good but the legs just wouldn’t run any faster. I will say that it was new to me starting in the dark, as the race started at 8pm, and I had been on my feet all day which probably made my system question why we were still up and running, but I usually thrive during the night and it was tough for me to get the body going so that was frustrating.

The Ugly:

I wouldn’t say it was ugly, but due to my limited training I opted to stop after 50km. I felt ok but I knew I wasn’t in the right kind of shape or in the right mind space to hit 100km in 12 hours. I called it a night and Quinn and I ate vegan pizza and had a couple beers in Springbank park under a sky of stars and cheered on our fellow runners. It was a peaceful night and as always a wonderful event.

My Garmin Splits HERE

Screen Shot 2019-09-24 at 9.36.20 AM

#BeBetter #OutTrainThem #DoEpic

CH

Leave a comment